Global Cosmetics News – Weekly Review | Week 40, October 2026
AIThis post was created with the assistance of artificial intelligence (AI).

TL;DR

Prime Big Deal Days · Oct 6–7Offer from Amazon

Get beauty and skincare favorites delivered free — and shop member deals

  • Fast, free delivery on millions of items
  • Access to Prime Big Deal Days deals on October 6–7
  • Prime Video, Amazon Music and more included
Start your free Prime trial Free trial for eligible customers · Cancel anytime
As an affiliate, we earn on qualifying purchases.

Global Cosmetics News’ Week 40 review described a broad mix of retail expansion, investment and product development alongside regulatory scrutiny, leadership changes and brand exits. The roundup covers developments across several markets, but does not provide dates, deal terms or independent verification for every item.

Global Cosmetics News’ Week 40 review reported a varied set of developments across the cosmetics and personal care industry, including new retail partnerships, investment activity, manufacturing expansion and regulatory scrutiny. The roundup also covered executive appointments, workplace policies and brand exits, showing how companies are pursuing growth while adjusting portfolios and operations across markets.

Retail was a prominent theme. M&S partnered with Sephora on beauty destinations planned for 100 UK stores, while Kiehl’s opened a European flagship on London’s Carnaby Street. The review also said South Africa’s Clicks Group took control of premium beauty retailer ARC, Japanese brand &honey expanded US distribution through Ulta Beauty, and Shinsegae planned a US-facing K-beauty retail platform. These moves use different routes to reach customers, from store concessions to new distribution and retail platforms.

Deal activity and investment also featured. The report said Sycamore Partners moved closer to a potential US$9 billion sale of Boots, while Armani was preparing to discuss a possible minority stake sale with L’Oréal, LVMH and EssilorLuxottica. Inflexion invested in Manucurist to support international expansion, and L’Oréal and Nykaa agreed to partner on investment in emerging Indian beauty brands. Separately, L’Oréal raised €2 billion through a triple-tranche bond offering. The review gave no further terms for the bond or the reported potential transactions.

Product development and production were part of the week’s news as well. Amorepacific invested in Junevity to develop skin rejuvenation technology and partnered with Kurly on exclusive beauty products. Bath & Body Works introduced its sensitive-skin-focused Essentials franchise. Unilever added a Sunsilk production line in Egypt. Dyson addressed a fault affecting its CameraJet toothbrush after reports of water seepage, according to the roundup; it did not detail the response or the number of affected products.

At a glance
recapWhen: Week 40, October 2026
The developmentGlobal Cosmetics News published a Week 40 roundup of developments in cosmetics and personal care, spanning retail, deals, manufacturing, regulation and brand portfolios.

Expansion Meets Portfolio Pressure

The developments point to an industry using several strategies at once: retail access, investment, product partnerships and added manufacturing capacity. For shoppers, new store destinations and distribution agreements could broaden where selected brands are available. For companies, manufacturing investment and partnerships may support market growth, while potential stake sales and brand closures reflect choices about where to place capital. These are distinct announcements rather than evidence of a single industry-wide shift.

The review also included regulatory and legal developments that may affect how companies manage products and marketing. US lawmakers sought answers from Revlon following FDA manufacturing findings, while P&G resolved an Italian investigation into advertising for Braun hair-removal products. The summary does not specify the findings, resolution terms or any penalties, so their consequences cannot be assessed from the roundup alone.

Amazon

Sephora beauty destination UK

As an affiliate, we earn on qualifying purchases.

As an affiliate, we earn on qualifying purchases.

A Week Across Markets

The weekly review brings together news from retailers, brand owners, investors and manufacturers rather than reporting one central transaction. Its geographic range includes the UK, US, India, Egypt, Italy and China. The reported US-China agreement to reduce tariffs on about US$30 billion of goods adds a trade-policy item, but the roundup does not identify the goods covered or explain how cosmetics shipments may be affected.

Other reported changes included Chanel naming Lucia Pieroni Creative Makeup Director, Kao appointing Laura Hogan as Molton Brown’s chief marketing officer, and Treatwell naming Coline Herné its chief marketing officer. Lush extended its six-month paid parental leave program to US retail and manufacturing employees. The Outset, the skincare brand founded by Scarlett Johansson, announced it would close. Taken together, these items show that the week’s developments ranged from expansion to operational and portfolio decisions.

Amazon

Kiehl’s London flagship products

As an affiliate, we earn on qualifying purchases.

As an affiliate, we earn on qualifying purchases.

Deal Terms and Findings Remain Sparse

The source is a weekly summary and does not include links to underlying statements or detailed supporting documents for each item. It is not clear when the Boots sale might be completed, whether Armani will sell a stake, or what terms would apply to the reported investment arrangements. The review describes these as potential or developing transactions, not completed deals.

Several other details are also absent: the timing and format of Shinsegae’s US platform, the scope of Dyson’s toothbrush fault and response, and the specifics of the FDA findings involving Revlon. The summary does not explain the terms of P&G’s Italian resolution, the products covered by the tariff reductions, or the financial circumstances behind The Outset’s closure. Those details should not be inferred from the roundup.

Amazon

Ulta Beauty Japanese skincare

As an affiliate, we earn on qualifying purchases.

As an affiliate, we earn on qualifying purchases.

Watch for Confirmations and Rollouts

The next developments to watch are whether the reported Boots sale and Armani stake discussions produce formal agreements, and how the planned retail expansions take shape. M&S and Sephora’s reported 100-store plan, &honey’s broader US distribution and Shinsegae’s platform plans will become clearer through rollout announcements. Further company statements could also clarify the investment partnerships, production expansion and Dyson’s handling of the reported fault.

For the regulatory and trade items, additional detail from lawmakers, companies or authorities would be needed to establish the findings, resolution terms and practical effects. The Week 40 review records what was reported during the period, but it does not establish the outcome of transactions or the longer-term impact of the developments.

Amazon

Dyson CameraJet toothbrush water seepage repair kit

As an affiliate, we earn on qualifying purchases.

As an affiliate, we earn on qualifying purchases.

Key Questions

What was the main news in the Week 40 cosmetics review?

The roundup covered retail expansion, investment, manufacturing and product development, alongside regulatory matters, executive appointments and brand changes. It did not identify one development as the central event.

Was the reported Boots sale completed?

No completion was reported. Global Cosmetics News said Sycamore Partners had moved closer to a potential US$9 billion sale; the timing and final terms were not provided.

What was the M&S and Sephora partnership?

The review said M&S partnered with Sephora to launch beauty destinations across 100 UK stores. It did not provide the rollout schedule or details about the product ranges.

What regulatory developments were reported?

US lawmakers sought answers from Revlon after FDA manufacturing findings, and P&G resolved an Italian investigation into advertising for Braun hair-removal products. The roundup did not state the findings or resolution terms.

What remains uncertain about the week’s developments?

Key unknowns include the outcomes and terms of potential deals, rollout dates for retail plans, details of the reported Dyson fault, and the precise scope of the regulatory and tariff developments.

Source: rss

Wellness content on this site is informational and not a substitute for professional medical guidance.
FALL

Fall Picks

As an affiliate, we earn on qualifying purchases.

You May Also Like

What Happened To CBD Beauty?

Interest in CBD beauty products is declining amid regulatory concerns and market uncertainties, prompting industry shifts and consumer reevaluation.

Makeup Brush Brand Anisa Beauty To Wind Down After Seven Years

Anisa Beauty, known for its makeup brushes, is planning to wind down after seven years, marking a significant change in the beauty industry.

The Best Beauty Sales Of The Week

This week’s top beauty sales include discounts on skincare, makeup, and haircare from major brands, with shoppers showing increased interest in affordable luxury.

Molly Sims Accuses Bobbi Brown’s Jones Road Beauty Of IP Theft

Model Molly Sims alleges that Bobbi Brown’s Jones Road Beauty has stolen intellectual property, sparking industry controversy and legal questions.